Angels and Demons

Last week I was driving and one of my kids, I think it was my daughter, asked me if I have ever personally seen an angel or demon. 

Do all kids ask these kinds of questions or is it because I send them to a Christian school? 

I had to think about it a little. I told them I don’t think I’ve ever seen a demon, but maybe breast cancer is my demon. 

I have lots of angels watching over me who have been through cancer. Both my grandmothers, my aunt Yvonne, Beth Dotson Whitmore, Grace Heigel, Cole Sawyer and especially Kara Bailey. Kara was my best friend from college and she passed away after a long battle against cancer and MS last year. 

I don’t see her, but feel her with me when I drive fast listening to loud music with the windows down. She’s the voice in my head that says “get your ass out of bed.” But because it’s Kara, it’s followed up with “but don’t put on any makeup because you’ll look too good and I’m not going to do it. I’m going to get in your bed and take a nap while you are out.” So I put on makeup anyway just to harass her. I imagine her playing with my friend’s children who passed away last year and it comforts me to know they have her as a friend.

So just when I’m wondering if this conversation is helping them or if they’ll be permanent damaged from crazy mommy’s musings they shift the conversation as only young children can.

And we are back to more important theories such as whether Selena Gomez and Justin Bieber are going to get married and why One Direction is breaking up.

Apparently they aren’t permanently scarred and I need to get a copy of Teen Beat or it’s contemporary equivalent to keep up with them.

Leave a comment